Trust & Technology Initiative 2019 Symposium - Agenda

19th September, Wolfson Hall, Churchill College, Cambridge

Welcome to our 2019 symposium. We hope you enjoy a day of stimulating conversations around trust, technology, and society. The main event will be in the Wolfson Hall. Tea and coffee during breaks and post-symposium drinks will be served in the Concourse. If you are sharing photos on social media, we ask that you respect any 'no photo' stickers displayed by attendees. Please note our code of conduct available at registration and at our website: <u>https://www.trusttech.cam.ac.uk</u> > Events > 2019 Symposium > Code of Conduct.

13.30-14.00 - Registration

14.00-14.10 – Welcome and Introduction

• Dr Jat Singh

Senior Research Fellow, Department of Computer Science and Technology Co-Chair, Trust & Technology Initiative

14.10-15.30 – Session 1: Automation and Society

Chair: Dr Jennifer Cobbe (Trust & Technology Initiative)

- **Dr Jess Whittlestone** Research Associate, Leverhulme Centre for the Future of Intelligence Steering Committee Member, Trust & Technology Initiative
- **Dr Beth Singler** Junior Research Fellow in Artificial Intelligence, Homerton College
- Dr Christopher Markou Leverhulme Early Career Fellow, Faculty of Law
- Councillor Ian Manning Cambridgeshire County Council

15.30-15.50 - Break

15.50-17.10 – Session 2: Critical Perspectives on Innovation

Chair: Dr Rob Doubleday (Executive Director, Centre for Science and Policy; Steering Committee Member, Trust & Technology Initiative)

- **Professor Jennifer Gabrys** Professor of Media, Culture and Environment, Department of Sociology Steering Committee Member, Trust & Technology Initiative
- Dr Catherine Rhodes Executive Director, Centre for the Study of Existential Risk
- Matthew Mahmoudi PhD Candidate, Centre of Development Studies

17.10-17.30 - Break

17.30-17.40 – Research Lightning Talks

17.40-19.00 – Session 3: Technology and Democracy

Chair: Professor John Naughton (Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences & Humanities; Steering Committee member, Trust & Technology Initiative)

• Dr David Erdos

Senior Lecturer in Law and the Open Society, Faculty of Law Steering Committee Member, Trust & Technology Initiative

Dr Ella McPherson

Senior Lecturer in the Sociology of New Media and Digital Technology, Dept of Sociology Executive Committee member, Trust & Technology Initiative

• Jon Roozenbeek PhD Candidate, Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages Member, Trust & Technology Initiative SIG in Disinformation and Media Literacy

19.00-20.00 - Reception